Children’s Africana Book Awards

The Children’s Africana Book Awards (CABA) are presented annually to the authors and illustrators of the best children’s and young adult books on Africa published or republished in the U.S. Africa Access and the Outreach Council of the African Studies Association (ASA) created CABA in 1991 to encourage the publication and use of accurate, balanced children’s materials about Africa. #CABAbooks

The Center for African Studies at Howard University is the institutional base for the Awards.

About CABA

CABA has three major objectives:

  • to encourage the publication of children’s and young adult books that contribute to a better understanding of African societies and issues,
  • to recognize literary excellence,
  • and to acknowledge the research achievements of outstanding authors and illustrators.

The awards are presented in two categories:

  • Young Children
  • Older Readers

Annually, the Saturday after the CABA Ceremony, the CABA Festival follows at the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art. It is open to the public with activities for children such as: art activities, storytelling, face painting and meeting the authors of the winning books.

CABA Nomination Process

To nominate a book for a CABA Award, learn about the criteria and nomination process here.


2023 CABA Winners

The 2023 CABA Winners have been announced!

See the 2023 Winners

Watch CABA