Children’s Africana Book Awards

Page Style

Current Style: Standard

Text Size

Current Size: 125%

The Children’s Africana Book Awards (CABA) are sponsored by the Outreach Council of the African Studies Association. The awards are designed to encourage the publication of accurate, balanced children’s materials on Africa, to recognize literary excellence, and to acknowledge the research achievements of outstanding authors and illustrators. Collectively CABA winners show that Africa is indeed a varied and multifaceted continent. CABA titles expand and enrich American perspectives of Africa beyond the stereotypical, a historical, and exotic images that are emphasized in the West. The first CABA was presented in 1992. Today there are more than 70 winning titles.

In 2017, CABA is celebrating it's 25th Anniversary! 

Visit the CABA page to learn more about the annual awards.