News - Announcements

Competition is open for the Drusilla Dunjee Houston Memorial Scholarship Award for women scholars of African descent

Page Style

Current Style: Standard

Text Size

Current Size: 125%

The Association of Black Women Historians

The Association of Black Women Historians2017 Drusilla Dunjee Houston Memorial Scholarship Award recognizes an emerging woman scholar of African descent and fosters scholarly research in Africana Women’s history.  Each year an award will be given for the best, unpublished original essay from a graduate course or a chapter from a thesis or dissertation for the 2017 award year (June 1, 2016 toMay 30, 2017). The submission must be wholly focused on some aspect of the history on black women from the U.S. and/or Africana Diaspora. It must demonstrate analysis of primary sources, focus on the ideas or actions initiated among black women, and make a significant contribution to Africana women’s history. The Black Classic Press of Baltimore inaugurated the award two decades ago, and it has been continued through the contributions of ABWH members.


  • Black woman graduate student currently pursuing a master of arts or doctorate degree in history or a related field
  • A minimum 3.0 GPA; applicant must submit a transcript
  • History writing sample that demonstrates analysis and use of primary sources
  • Two letters of recommendation from professors and academic advisors on letterhead (Note that one of the letters must come from an ABWH member in good standing. The letters may be submitted directly to Award committee.)
  • Curriculum Vita

The deadline for receipt of all application materials (including letters of recommendation) is June 30, 2017. Please send application materials to

The 2017 award will be presented at the 2017 ABWH Annual Luncheon at the Hyatt Regency Cincinnati on September 30th during the 102nd ASALH Convention in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The 2017 Drusilla Dunjee Houston Prize members are Professors Robyn C. Spencer, Chair (Lehman College, CUNY); Sonya Ramsey (University of North Carolina, Charlotte); Daryl Scott (Howard University); and Deirdre Cooper-Owens (Queens College, CUNY).